larpcraft.com
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Serena Valentina

Impresas

Insignia pontificum Romanorum et cardinalium, Part 10, BSB Cod 275 (Italy, 1550-1555), Image 96 Here is the difference between a badge and an impressa. A badge is something that follows the rules for devices, but doesn't have to be on a shield and is often used by multiple people. A badge can have more than one charge just like your coat of arms. An impresa, on the other hand, is normally one charge (occasionally two) that is high on the complexity range and doesn't get a blazon. Again it does get used by groups, like the badge. Also an impresa doesn't get a field, here the "field" is painted blue on each else the charges wouldn't be seen clearly. The charges on an impresa seem to follow few rules, if any, and tend to be a single image that is based off of the main coat of arms.

Impresas
Serena Valentina, Feb 15, 2017